DD TV The Viewer – October 2014

Aside the only official Oscar’s ceremony held in LA every year, this is the place where we post our feedback on the most impressive movies we have watched in these past few months.

We use the following “rough” method for the rating.

*** (3 stars) good movie, but not excellent

**** (4 stars) great

***** (5 stars) don’t miss it, highly recommended

THE AVENGERS 2011 – with Scarlett Johannsson and Robert jr. Downey

It was odd to see the characters use similar hi-fi toys to the ones we’re currently using, in a futuristic movie: I could see tablets, led screen walls, mobile phones, walkie-talkie.

It seems inspired by ancient legendary tales (Thor, Odin …).

Every venture movie must feature a hero and the anti-hero, the bad ne, the “rebel”, who is in contrast with the hero: Locki is the case. I was at times impressed of the cruelty of the character; he was a little too violent.

My fave heroes are: Hulk, the Invisible woman and the Torch.

**** 4 stars to the story. I don’t rate it the top (5 stars out of 5) because it was a bit confused.

**** My special wow! To Scarlett Johansson and Jamie Lee Curtis

HUNGER GAMES with Jennifer Lawrence

The story is taken from a novel (which I got from Kobo for my e-reader). It was a premiere and never went to the cinema to watch it before. I haven’t started the book yet, so, although I heard friends chatting about it, it was the very first time to watch it from me.

It’s purely fiction and thanks God, because I wish THIS sort of Reality shows would never be designed: we have seen some “extreme” like “Survivor” but I’d never want to see the competitors who have to kill the others to win!!

There is much suspense in: I held my breath for a good part of the movie, due to the curiosity of what could be next and for the natural suspense inside the “chapters” of the movie.

Violence and blood are here and there throughout the motion picture, but I had the sensation that, at least concerning the blood, something was kind of hidden.

I naturally supported for character Katniss: she’s the heroine, absolutely!

***** 5 stars out of 5 to the story despite all, a really amazing story.

**** 4 stars out of 5 to the special effects

**** to actor/rock star Lenny Kravitz in the more than a cameo appearance in the movie. He reminded me of Gary Kemp of Spandau Ballet in “The Bodyguard”

THE AMAZING SPIDERMAN with Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone

I watched the premiere on the Italian TV the other day and it seemed to me the best movie realized so far.

In the story, to me, the difficulties were to perform nicely: a) the shy of the character, Peter Parker, ‘coz. I have previously seen ridiculous interpretations and I have to say this actor won the challenge. B) The spider’s bite. Here the dedicated portion in the movie seemed longer, with a little more kind of “romance” and it was curious to see that this time the spider hit his neck, whereas before it bit his the arms… LOL!

The special effects were improved and the director had time on his side.

Spiderman is one of my fave childhood heroes, together with Batman.

To resume:

***** to the spider

***** to Spiderman’s enemy (it’s never easy to play the “wicked one” ’s role)

Next update in February 2015.

DD TV xx

Leave a Reply

