DD TV The Viewer – February 2016

Aside the only official Oscar’s ceremony held in LA every year, this is the place where we post our feedback on the most impressive movies we have watched in these past few months.

We use the following “rough” method for the rating.

*** (3 stars) good movie, but not excellent

**** (4 stars) great

***** (5 stars) don’t miss it, highly recommended

MASTER & COMMANDER with Russell Crowe

It is a colossal awesome movie, a big production for the cinema, featuring the former Roman gladiator Russell Crowe here as a vessel Commander during the Napoleon era.

History is the flame of this Hollywood production and I love this kind of history because I like the history novels. That’s fiction, but history is the core of it all.

The hero was Crowe here reminded me of a young “Captain Kirk” of the Star Trek saga: determined, astute, intuitive, sweet, and sarcastic.

The Napoleon times were hard times for Europe, both on the ground and on the sea: the fight scenes were frequent in the movie, I saw blood and devastation, but nothing really so horrible. Just sometimes I heard obscene language being spoken

The sea is the environment and there were plenty of awesome special effects to reproduce both vessels and islands.

My final rating is 4, 5 out of 5 stars, due to the blood and to the war hard scenes

THE GULLIVER’S TRAVEL (2010) with Jack Black and Billy Conolly

Prior to say I’ve never read the original novel of Johnathan Swift , prior to say I id hear talking about it during and since my childhood, it was the first time I watched ever a cinema version of the novel and it was the premiere on TV here in Italy.

I knew actor Jack Black as an American comedian, I saw him doing some gags during the 2003 MTV Video Music Awards and I expected to see hilarious scenes in the story, which is what in fact happened and I did laugh, when due.

There was little vulgarity, little obscene spoken language here and there, but I don’t think it was inappropriate for the younger kids watching. There wasn’t anything offensive, or outrageous: the general lines of the original novel were respected, nothing was violated, in order to give the right tribute Swift, his family, his readers and to give respect to everybody watching.

There was some adaptation given the comic ego of Jack Black, obviously the novel wasn’t totally reflected in the movie, but I did enjoy the extras…. Some of them really weird!

It was a funny movie, but not on the level of an Oscar. My final rating is 4 stars out of 5.

THE SCROUMPFS 2 THE NEW YORK VENTURE  Anime

The story isn’t original, but the anime,  in the early 80s, was famous because it was so.

I watched the anime when I was a kid and watched the movie on TV with the family years later, at the age of 43 and in Spanish spoken language, as I was in holiday in a speaking Spanish country. Didn’t have much trouble with the understanding and it was funny, I laughed all the time!

The most amazing portions are the ones in the final fight portion with Gargamel.

To end my fave characters in 3D are still the same ones I had as a kid.

My rating is 4 stars out of 5 ****

THE 5 LEGENDS Anime by Peter Ramsey (2011)

A 3D cartoon which features an original story, a brand new fairy tale I don’t remember I heard during my childhood.

The story features 5 real beloved superheroes, Santa Claus, Jack Frost, a Fairy, Sandman and a super Rabbit: together, reinvigorated by their superpowers, have to fight against the Black Man (the evil): he turned the children’s dreams into nightmares and he stole the children’s first tooth fallen the kids hid under their pillows!

The message I perceived is to never give up dreaming. Secondly, dreaming is a right!

I turned back to my childhood with this anime, for a moment I set off my mind the bad news circulating in these days.

My rating is: 5 stars out of 5, ***** A classic that I can recommend it both to adults, as well.

PLANES 2 and FROZEN (Disney, 2013)

I enjoyed re-watching these two masterpieces of Disney during the Holidays this past December.

“Planes” is a creature of the same crew who gave birth to “Cars”. The story is just for kids, but it was lovely. I didn’t cry, although there were some touching moments.  I had a great time guessing away whose was the main characters’ voices were!

“Frozen” seemed to be the usual “Cinderella-Prince Charming” story, but absolutely it wasn’t! It deals with two rich  sister princesses , one of them has magic power to make all frozen, but one day playing with her little sister, she has her magic power to go out of her control and the little sister is the victim of one incident. The sovereigns go to ask for a remedy to the trolls of the area (the story takes place in Scandinavia) and the trolls advise them to separate the two sisters for a lifetime, and to confine the one with the magic power all alone in the tower of the Castle … to be continued!

I was impressed that the portions of the story were performed like in a musical: in fact, there is a “karaoke” version out.

My rating for both of the above movies is: 5/5. Sometimes the anime for kids gets me more thrilled than the “adult” movies. Well done, Disney!

THE DAWN OF THE PLANET OF THE APES (2010) with James Franco

Amazing movie, although it was the remake of the sequel of the ape Cesar, released years ago.

The story changed from the remake, but the concept around the main character Cesar is the same.

I’m not going to make a comparison between remake and original movie: I can’t make it, because the story changed! The 2010 movie is thoughts-provoking around the debate on which we have to test our brand new treatments: animals, guinea pigs or humans? At the end of the movie I had this similar question: for the mankind’s sake, what about you?

I should say who I supported: humans or apes? I’d reply both of them are right, in their way, somehow.

A special mention has to be done to the make-up and to the special effects, which make my final rating rising to a rather high one: 4, 5/5.

GRAVITY – 2013 with Sandra Bullock and George Clooney

This week on Monday I had the opportunity to watch the movie as it was a premiere on TV in Italy.

I am not going to report the story of this 7 Oscars winning motion picture, but of course, I’m just sharing my main thoughts for the feedback.

George’s character was the best one in the story and I was sorry to see him dying, whereas the Sandra’s character looked like a “retarded” astronaut, too emotional for such mission snd she keeps blowing her nose up, which I hate in hearing in my everyday life.

I didn’t like the obscene language, spoken especially by Sandra Bullock: out of place.

I would save the amazing special effects and, however, the story, which was a terrific mix of suspense and action.

My final rating is: 4/5 stars ****

 

Next update in July 2016.

DD TV xx

Leave a Reply

