Live Shows – Is it right to get crazy at whatever age?

I haven’t been a gig goer anymore for few years: for several personal reasons I can’t permit it, but money and my fave music aren’t listed in the reasons to it.

I have sometimes nostalgia of the early crazy days: I didn’t care of what the others said of me, in front of me or behind me. If I needed to say it loud, or to do it I did it! I had someone else who somehow comprehended my “excesses” (i.e. the older fans). That’s the beauty of my early years as a fan.

Notwithstanding with my personal trouble, I do love living music and I am aware it is not the same as the experience of a live show, but I still get crazy, I can feel the thrill as being there for real and of course I can’t be loud to not disturb my neighbors. But that’s not the matter of my arguing. My discussion on this blog is the following > > > Playing the crazy fan, like screaming and singing loud and dancing,  sweating, laughing while listening/watching to a live show, even when you are at home in a desert area is permitted when you ought not? Does your age matters or does it make a difference?

The education in your family. Now apart from the above-mentioned “older fans” who now are away,  my upbringing did count, the inside house rules mattered, as well. They both mattered for building up my politeness. The regular monitoring on my politeness caused me like a “psycho block” just in the moments when I had to have fun, whenever I could let it go.

I think for also most of the other fellow fans, the environment when one grew up, like school, circles did have an influence on their emotions. Only that influence was more or less “accentuated”. Thankfully, sharing your passion with other people is healthy and you sort of come back to feel when you were a younger boy, when parents or the older fans defended you whenever you did anything wrong. The people of your circle become your “new family members” and you come to fit with them.

Things get funny when you as a family man. The rules for “socializing” and more importantly, for “getting crazy” if you have a hero to worship now have to be reflected on your kids and you have to be aware at the same time of your own past, of your long time “fan experience” and of you other life experiences, reminding you are no longer a kid yourself. There is no handbook, no “guide” featuring these rules: apparently you have to re-create all in a new context with new younger people, who aren’t new fans, they are your kids! The transition isn’t an easy period, you need advice and support from very trusted people. Your new decisions will influence the future new music fans: they’ll belong to a new generation of people, who will have their own music icons, symbols, songs and records. When you watch your kids grown up wiser and trained up, you’ll be pride for what you have taught them years before; you’ll be proud if your kids share respect within their own fan community; you’ll be proud to see the differences only in terms of age, of time passed by.

I’m going to end this discussion by saying the two last, final following things.

I know few people – women – who never “let it go”, I mean they have had for ages a music hero, they have been true fans, but in front of me and the rest of us peeps they never “shook” for whatever happening (celebrating anything announced like a record release, a new tour, the launch of a book or of a movie, or of an exhibit), they have been “cold”, never reacted: I guess they showed their enthusiasm at home and when alone. I have to confess I never socialized with them: they never gave a valid reason to, as these women were so snob to everyone around them.

Craziness is something beautiful to taste, to recall in your memories, to use as a lesson, to experience at whatever age you are living, because being crazy for a music hero is human! Getting crazy is as much human as is a baby’s cry whenever he is hungry.

 

 

DD TV xx

Leave a Reply

